The Little Lanesplitter That Could

12 Apr

It’s been a while since you’ve seen my lanesplitter skirt on the blog, and that’s because it sat 95% finished since June, when all it needed was the bit of knitting that holds the elastic in. Clearly I’m a lazy knitter, although honestly I think some of my reluctance to finish this was because I was worried how I would look wearing a rainbow wool skirt.

lanesplitter

All of my fears have been assuaged, because I look kick-ass in this skirt.

lanesplitter2

Unfortunately by the time I actually got around to doing the finishing and taking these photos, the wool-skirt weather is pretty much behind us. That doesn’t mean that I’m not going to wear it on the colder days, I need to make up for lost time!

lanesplitter3

I’m really glad I read through the project comments on Ravelry and discovered Laura Nelkin’s tutorial on how to turn this pattern into a seamless skirt. My skirt looks so phenomenal and I wouldn’t want the colors interrupted by a seam. And because of the bias construction (diagonal instead of vertical/horizontal), there’s no “saggy-butt” issue than I’ve heard about knit skirts having.

lanesplitter4

I’ve never worked with Noro before, and while I probably wouldn’t want it directly against my skin, as many people say about it, it’s still a really nice yarn with gorgeous colors and it works well for a skirt worn over tights.

lanesplitter5

It was the lanesplitter craze last summer that got me into knitting this, but if following the masses gets me something like this? I think I’ll trust their judgement more often.

(All these were photos were taken around the Union St. bridge over the Gowanus Canal in Brooklyn. Great place for a photo shoot!)

4 Responses to “The Little Lanesplitter That Could”

  1. introvertedknitter April 14, 2013 at 1:00 am #

    That skirt is amazing, and it looks absolutely fantastic on you. The tights seem to make it pop even more, which is so cool. Lovely pictures and scenery. Congrats on an awesome FO!

  2. marthalazar April 14, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Looks great. And you are *so* not a lazy knitter!

  3. Cassy April 16, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Love love love that skirt! You definitely look kick ass in it!

  4. Kim April 16, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

    Michael and I both agree you do look kickass! Very flattering outfit :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

