Rhinebeck: The Sweater

22 Oct

Last year I had a great time at Rhinebeck, I really did, but I didn’t get the hubbub about it. This year I got it. Of all of the knitting related events I’ve been to, this one was the best by far. Last year it was a short day trip with non-knitters, this year it was a weekend trip in the most beautiful setting with an abundance of knitters, and an official Rhinebeck Sweater. The entire train/car ride up I was frantically knitting my sweater, and with just a button band and collar to go I wasn’t that worried about finishing. But of course Saturday morning came and I only had an inch of the collar knit, and it was supposed to be five inches! On the ride to the festival I bound off the collar and called it done for the day. I might not have had the full collar, or the buttons, and it might have had a few hidden unwoven ends, but it was done enough!

Stonecutters-cardigan

I felt like such a rockstar all day wearing the sweater, and not just because I had succeeded in my crazy goal, but because it looked fantastic, fit so well, and is such a comfy sweater. All day I had people asking me what the pattern was, and if there’s a post-Rhinebeck boom in Stonecutters Cardigans, I’m taking complete credit. I also had people asking if I made any modifications, which I think they assumed I had because it fit so well, but I didn’t need to because Amy Christoffers’ designs are perfect just the way they are. The final question people asked was what yarn I had used. When I told them it was Cascade 220 the looks on their faces was always the same, “Cascade 220 can look that gorgeous?!”. It might not be the most glamorous of yarns, but I loved working with it, the heather burnt orange is a beautiful color and combined with the cables it makes for such a squish-tastic cardigan.

Amy Christoffers

Maria, Amy, and me! (This picture is stolen shamelessly from Amy’s instagram)

Meeting Amy Christoffers was one of the many highlights of the trip and I was so excited to be able to show her my completed sweater. I hope she knows how much I love it! Although I did meet up with the other Amy (threadpanda) that started this madness, and got to see both of their gorgeous sweaters, we didn’t manage to take a picture of the three of us in all our deadline knits. Amy Christoffers sweater was stunning, and I can’t wait until she writes up the pattern so that I can get started on it!

Just as soon as I get all my thoughts and photos organized I’ll post about the rest of what I did the weekend and all the goods I got! In the meantime, go check out Amy Christoffers and Amy Threadpanda‘s Rhinebeck updates. I also met up with Sarah (KnitYorkCity) and Maria (SubwayKnits)¬†on Saturday, so if you’re still craving some Rhinebeck jealousy, be sure to check them out as well.

3 Responses to “Rhinebeck: The Sweater”

  1. Sarah October 22, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    You and your Stonecutters look absolutely gorgeous sitting in those leaves! Wow! I’m so excited you finished it and this was totally the best Rhinebeck! I feel like the excitement was in the air!

  2. caityrosey October 22, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    That really is a lovely sweater. And extra points for orange. I’m glad you had a good time.

  3. Cassy October 23, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    Beautiful! I think I like it with a little less collar. You probably will cause a bump in pattern sales from your fantastic example.

    I LOVE Cascade 220 and it’s gorgeous range of colors. It’s one of my favorite yarns for worsted weight sweaters because that means I get to make more and more sweaters (it’s affordable) and it comes in a huge range of colors. I used it for a ton of cabling on my Beatnik and it really makes the cables pop.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

