300

11 Mar

This is the 300th blog post I’ve written on this site. Just over six years ago, February 25th 2008, was my very first post. It’s crazy to think that I’ve been doing this for that long. I started this blog on a whim, with the purpose of keeping a record of the random patterns I was creating. It functioned as┬ámuch more of a journal, full of personal tidbits, ramblings and short status updates, which was pretty much on par for blogs in 2008. I wrote a lot about college, posted my very first selfie, went on and on about how sad I was to be away from Ty, had a foray into selling knits on Etsy, and used emoticons like a 12 year old girl.

I have to say that it wasn’t really until 2012 that I actually put effort into making my blog look and sound nice. And it probably wasn’t until 2013 that I really felt like I was part of a global knitting community. When I joined twitter in the fall of 2012 I continued being an observer, like I had been with blogs I followed, but when I finally started interacting with people on twitter and through comments on blogs, it’s like I dove into this magical hidden world. One of my favorite parts of knitting is, surprisingly, not the gorgeous yarn, but the people. I have met so many amazing people that I hope to be friends with for a very long time. And I know that as long as I stick around I’ll become friends with even more fabulous people.

Knitting has been an amazing adventure to me, and although I’m all the way to 300 posts on this blog, I know that my adventure is really just beginning. There are so many great things ahead of me, and even if I’m getting there slower than I’d imagined, I’m making progress sure enough. Over the years, my knitting has been a safety blanket, a creative outlet, a chore, and a friend. And I know that I’m not the only one who feels this way about knitting.

Now for some stats. Over 6 years and 300 posts, I’ve certainly had my ups and downs. I published 39 blog posts in 2008, falling to 24 posts in 2009, and 18 in 2010. But I’m happy to say I persevered, posting 47 in 2011, 84 in 2012 and 82 in 2013. That means I’ve been publishing over 1.5 posts per week for over two years now.

There are going to be some exciting changes going on with my blog in the near future, so definitely make sure to check back here. I have a feeling I’m going to get to 600 in far less than six more years!

One Response to “300”

  1. introvertedknitter March 11, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    Congrats on hitting such a great milestone. 300 blog posts is great and I love how you shared your evolution and break down of post amounts. I look forward to reading the next 300.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

