Spinning update

20 Mar

I think it was a few weeks ago I finished spinning my Malabrigo fiber, well, by spinning I mean plying. I took a whole Sunday and just kept going until it was finished. I then tried skeining it on my swift, and realized pretty quickly that it wasn’t working out. I’ve skeined my other spinning on my swift, but I think because there was so much more yardage and I was trying to keep the tension tight, I just ended up squishing my swift closed as I went. Now a year ago I knew very little about spinning (I still don’t know much), but I had heard of a niddy noddy and vaguely knew what it did. I did a quick google search and found a whole variety of them for sale, usually for quite a lot of money, and I even saw some how-to guides for making them out of pvc pipe. Then I remembered that Maria said she got hers from ebay and so I found a great one there for a good deal. It’s just plain wood, not finished or anything, but it’s interchangeable so it can make three different size skeins, 2 yards, 1 1/2 yards and 1 yard. You know I’m a sucker for tools with more than one function. (I only allow rare exceptions to Alton Brown’s rule of no uni-taskers in the kitchen, gotta have my garlic press though!)

niddy-noddy

Once my niddy noddy came in I quickly skeined my Malabrigo, and I can tell you it takes a very odd arm movement to be able to wind it on the niddy noddy smoothly and quickly. But now it’s washed and twisted into a hank and it’s so pretty!

skein

I have absolutely no idea what I’m going to do with it, but I don’t really mind having a mini handspun stash. What I do need though, is a wraps per inch tool. And obviously I can just measure it around a ruler and that would probably work out alright, but look at this Tardis wpi tool! So adorable!

2 Responses to “Spinning update”

  1. caityrosey March 20, 2014 at 10:22 am #

    Very pretty indeed. I love purple. And I love my niddy noddy too. Indispensable tool.

  2. lollieadele March 20, 2014 at 11:27 am #

    Wow, this is gorgeous… i hope to be this good at spinning one day

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 323 other followers

